

## Bedfordshire County Netball Volunteer Awards Presentation Event 10 July 2022

Gloria Keech, County Chair, welcomed everyone to the Athletic Stadium in Bedford to the County Volunteer Awards celebration to take part in an Afternoon Tea and a glass of Prosecco.

Nominees and nominators for the various County Volunteer Awards came together on Sunday 10 July 2022 and were also joined by members, who were nominated for an East ONE Award. Gloria thanked guests, Kendra Slawinski, Bedfordshire County President, and Jo Brewster, Bedfordshire Netball Development Officer for joining the celebration.

Gloria said "It is one of my more delightful tasks as Chair of the County to be able to be part of the presentation event, to meet recipients and to recognise their contribution to the County. Volunteers are the lifeblood of our sport and without their dedication netball could simply not function."

The afternoon commenced with recognition to those Bedfordshire members who were nominated for 2022 East ONE Awards, congratulations to the following members:

Hayley Mackellar; Alison Brightman; Juliet Jones; Bern Palmer; Louise Brown; Nas Khan and Mary Hull. Unfortunately Mary was not able to be present as she was attending the Shefford NC (her own club) Awards event, however, as an update Mary was in fact the **Winner of the East Unsung Hero Award. Congratulations to Mary** and we wish her luck going on to the England Netball National event later in the year.

Moving on to the Volunteer County Awards, presentations were made to the following members.

## Long Service Award

Michelle Drakes; Jeanette Johnson, Vicky Norman; Julie Wilkinson; Joy Campion and Angela Beattie

## Bedfordshire County Volunteer Award Winners

Jackie Stigwood - Administrator Award Jeanette Johnson - Officiating Award Hayley Mackellar - Grassroots Coach Award Bedford Community NC - Outstanding Netball Club Award Ness Girvan - Nancy Morris Trophy

There were additional nominees for the Nancy Morris Trophy and evidence given for each nominee showed their commitment to their respective League/Club, it was therefore felt that two other nominees would be presented with an Award in Recognition of their nomination for the Nancy Morris Trophy - these two members are Jennie Reed and Juliet Jones.

## CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL NOMINEES AND WINNERS